Wednesday, June 3, 2015

The 6 Most Anticipated Books from BEA 15

I saw a lot of books at Book Expo America (BEA) last week. A LOT OF BOOKS. But there were six books that really piqued my interest, and I am most definitely looking forward to reading them this year.

1. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon (Delacorte Press, September 1, 2015)
There was so much buzz about this book at BEA! (And an incredibly long line to get an autographed copy of the book from the author.) The book was also listed as a BEA YA Buzz Book! The book's 17-year-old female main character has "bubble boy" disease, and her whole life changes when a cute boy moves in next door.

2. Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (G.P. Putnam's Sons, September 2015)
This book was also a BEA YA Buzz Book. I got the chance to hear the author's speak about this book at a panel discussion of all the buzz books, and I was totally sold! I also got to meet the authors when they signed copies of their book, and they were the NICEST guys, engaging each person in a mini conversation as we came up to the table. The tagline on the cover of the review copy of this book is "After fourteen years of day comes fourteen years of night. Don't get left behind." I can't wait to see what happens when the main characters do get left behind!

YA Buzz Book panel at BEA
3. Dietland by Sarai Walker (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, out now)
The publicist for this book started crying when talking about the book, that's how much this book meant to her. The novel is about a single woman who is saving up for weight-loss surgery, and it also tackles the beauty industry, gender inequality, and society's weight-loss obsession.

4. Lois Lane: Fallout by Gwenda Bond (Switch Press, out now)
This YA novel re-imagines Lois Lane as a teenager and tells a heroic story from Lois' perspective with very little influence from that other guy ... what's his name? Oh, yeah, Superman. The author was signing autographs for the book at BEA, and the line for it wrapped twice around the publisher's booth. That's how excited everyone is for this new novel!

5. Post-Traumatic Church Syndrome by Reba Riley (Howard Books, August 2015)
The BEA's daily newspaper gave this book a write-up, and I thought it sounded so interesting, I made a point to stop in at the publisher's booth as soon as they were giving away review copies. This non-fiction book follows the author's experience of trying 30 religions before her 30th birthday. It sounds like something for fans of The Year of Living Biblically or even Eat, Pray, Love.

6. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware (Scout Press, August 2015)
I've saved the best for last! I heard the book's editor speak at an Adult Fiction Buzz Book panel about this new psychological thriller. The editor couldn't tell us too much about the book without giving too much away, but it sounds like a perfect book for fans of Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep, and The Girl on a Train. Luckily, it comes out in August, so you won't have to wait long to read it!

1 comment:

  1. love this post! there a few i want to read - thanks!!!

    ReplyDelete